Kyle Busch gets moved and Chase Elliott steals Stage 2 win

Chase Elliott won Stage 2 at Martinsville Speedway on a last lap battle.

On the final lap of the segment, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. popped the back of the No. 18 of Busch twice, the second bump got the leader loose and allowed Elliott to move to the inside to take the lead and the win.

“That was definitely wild,” Elliott said. “I’m as surprised that I’m talking to you as you are.”

Busch was second followed by Brad Keselowski, Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Blaney, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Matt Kenseth, Erik Jones, Trevor Bayne and Kasey Kahne.

Kyle Busch was the first driver to stay out after Stage 1 and inherited the point. Chase Elliott, Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano, Jones, Bayne, Kahne, Ryan Newman, Kenseth, Chris Buescher, Earnhardt, Danica Patrick, Cole Whitt and Austin Dillon also remained on the track.

Elliott passed Busch after four laps. Logano moved up to third on Lap 149. By Lap 151, the No. 18 car moved back into the lead. Earnhardt passed Erik Jones for fifth on Lap 171. On Lap 180, Busch still led followed by Elliott, Logano, Blaney, Earnhardt, Jones, Johnson, Kenseth, Bayne and Keselowski. Ten laps later, Johnson passed Jones for sixth.

Midway through the stage, Busch led followed by Elliott, Logano, Blaney, Earnhardt, Johnson, Keselowski, Jones, Kenseth, Bayne and Truex. Busch lapped Kevin Harvick on Lap 206. On Lap 210, Johnson passed Earnhardt and Keselowski passed both drivers for fifth a lap later.

Polesitter Larson was lapped on Lap 226. It’s the first stage he would not finish in the top 10.

On Lap 229, Penske teammates Keselowski and Logano were battling for third when the No. 22 developed issue with a cut tire. Logano pitted on Lap 231. The team struggled to get the jack under the car to change tires. Logano eventually returned to the track in 30th, two laps down.

“A piece of debris or something cut it,” crew chief Todd Gordon told Logano.

Busch was leading with 10 laps to go in the stage followed by Elliott, Keselowski, Johnson, Blaney, Earnhardt, Kenseth, Jones, Bayne and Kahne.

Busch led 118 laps before he was moved coming to the green and white checkered.