Cheika forced to re-shuffle Wallabies pack

Queensland Reds rookie Liam Wright has been named on the Wallabies bench for the match against with the Barbarians, capping a memorable 24 hours, after Rory Arnold was ruled out with a knee injury.

Wright, named Under-20 Player of the Year at the Rugby Australia Awards in Sydney on Thursday night after staring at the World Rugby Under 20 Championship in Georgia, will get the chance to pull on the famous gold jersey before making his Super Rugby debut should he come off the bench at Allianz Stadium.

Arnold’s injury has forced a shuffle in the matchday 23, with Kane Douglas set to start and Ben McCalman shifting into the No. 19 jersey.

The Wallabies have played the Barbarians in Australia only once before, in 2009, when Australia won 55-7 winners at Allianz Stadium in Sydney.

This will be the thirteenth meeting between Australia and the invitational side, but the first since November 2014 — in what was also Michael Cheika’s first game as Wallabies coach.

Wallabies team: Karmichael Hunt, Henry Speight, Samu Kerevi, Billy Meakes, Israel Folau, Duncan Paia’aua, Nick Phipps (capt), Lopeti Timani, Jack Dempsey, Ned Hanigan, Lukhan Tui, Rory Arnold, Allan Alaalatoa, Jordan Uelese, Tom Robertson. Res: Stephen Moore, Tetera Faulkner, Jermaine Ainsley, Kane Douglas, Ben McCalman, Joe Powell, Curtis Rona, Izaia Perese.