Chase Elliott leads practice once again Saturday morning

Chase Elliott posted the fastest single-lap run in second practice at Phoenix International Raceway.

Elliott, who ran a total of 34 laps, established the quick speed of 135.977mph during his first run of the session.

Polestar Joey Logano (135.486mph), Kyle Larson (135.323mph), Martin Truex Jr. (135.206mph), and Brad Keselowski (135.171mph)rounded out the top-five in morning practice on Saturday.

Ryan Blaney was the first car on the track and established a top speed of 134.615mph after nine laps.

In the first minute of practice, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. wheel-hopped into the wall before completing his first lap to bring out the caution. Stenhouse claimed his brake pedal worked in Turns 3 and 4 but did not work in Turns 1 and 2. It’s the second time in two weeks that the No. 17 has ended up in the wall in second practice. After repairs, Stenhouse returned to the track and completed 34 laps. He was 23rd on the speed chart.

Ryan Newman also stopped with smoke spewing from the No. 31 car. It was reportedly from excess oil burning off the headers.

Practice continued just after the four-minute mark. Elliott (26.475-sec.) was the fastest of the first 25 cars to post a time 10 minutes into the 55-minute session followed by Penske teammates Logano and Keselowski. Three minutes later, Larson jumped up to third-quick on his fifth lap with a speed of 153.323mph.

Fifteen minutes into practice, Elliott remained at the top of the board followed by Logano, Larson, Ryan Truex Jr. and Keselowski. Kevin Harvick, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kasey Kahne, Blaney and Kyle Busch.

The top-10 drivers didn’t change after the first 30 minutes as temperatures continued to rise. Jamie McMurray, Erik Jones, Denny Hamlin, Clint Bowyer and Matt Kenseth ran 11th through 15th on the speed chart.

NASCAR waved the red flag for debris at the 37-minute mark. The top-10 drivers remained the same with Elliott atop the board. AJ Allmendinger’s 35-laps were the most completed prior to the caution.

The session returned to green conditions with 15 minutes remaining.

Truex topped the Best 10 Consecutive Lap Average category with a speed of 134.525mph followed by Elliott (134.431mph), Earnhardt Jr. (134.398mph), Larson (134.329mph), Hamlin (134.124mph), McMurray (133.924mph), Kyle Busch (133.740mph), Jones (133.657mph), Clint Bowyer (133.498mph) and Jimmie Johnson (133.347mph).

CLICK HERE for complete session results