Beauden Barrett named World Rugby Player of the Year

Beauden Barrett has been named World Rugby Player of the Year, becoming only the second player, after Richie McCaw, to win the award in two successive years.

The Hurricanes and New Zealand five-eighth won the award from All Blacks teammate Rieko Ioane, Wallabies fullback Israel Folau, England and British & Irish Lions first-five Owen Farrell and lock Maro Itoje.

New Zealand cleaned up at the World Rugby awards in Monaco, with the Women’s Rugby World Cup-winning Black Ferns named team of the year ahead of the Rugby Championship winners and Six Nations champions England.

New Zealand Blacks Ferns winner Portia Woodman was named Women’s Player of the Year.

Barrett, who played 13 Tests in 2017, scoring 168 points, said he was “very proud and surprised” to have won the award again.

“I wanted to be better than I was last year, and I still feel I have plenty more to go.”

Barrett said he was “just one player amongst a great team”.

“I get a lot of credit for a lot of things so I have to thank them.”

World Rugby Awards winners

Men’s Player of the Year: Beauden Barrett (NZL)

Women’s Player of the Year: Portia Woodman (NZL)

Team of the Year: New Zealand Black Ferns

Coach of the Year: Eddie Jones (ENG)

World Rugby Referee Award: Joy Neville (IRE)

Try of the Year: Joaquin Tuculet (ARG)

Breakthrough Player of the Year: Rieko Ioane (NZL)

Men’s Sevens Player of the Year: Perry Baker (USA)

Women’s Sevens Player of the Year: Michaela Blyde (NZL)

IRPA Special Merit Award: Richie McCaw (NZL), Rachael Burford (ENG)